My Sister’s Keeper Book Review(May Contain Spoilers)

1439157383_lDISCLAIMER: THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS. I’ll put (***) before the sentence to warn you of a spoiler if, in fact I do insert one.

Thanks to my fantastic Mom, who bought this book only 2 days ago, I had the chance to read it. It’s written by Jody Picoult. When I picked it up for the first time, I originally thought that it would just be a book about sisters, and that’s all. Well, for the most part, it is. Here’s the synopsis of the book:

Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate — a life and a role that she has never challenged…until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister — and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves.

I had such a hard time putting this book down- although I finished it in 2 nights. I tend to read more at night because that’s when most people are asleep and I have more time to concentrate on it.

Picoult’s writing style is unique. In the book, the chapters aren’t number 1, 2, 20, 45, etc. Instead, you get a chance to read every character’s point of view. You not only get to hear from Anna, you also get to hear from the parents and other characters in the story. It was a really different way of reading. Like I said, I couldn’t put the book down.

I will warn you, you might need to read the book with a box of tissue next to you. ***There are some sad parts that just make you feel like you’re on a roller coaster of emotion. You feel helpless when Kate’s “boyfriend” dies. You want to hug the parents.***

So how much do I love this book? Immensely. While Twilight was numero uno (number 1 for the English speakers) on my favorites list, that has been bumped down to Number Two. My Sister’s Keeper now sits in the first slot. So, I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good sob story, a story of inspiration and desperation.

My Sister’s Keeper is a book that I’m sure you guys will love!

667DD343F8E1D4884AFC1B9C33B5FA10

3 responses to “My Sister’s Keeper Book Review(May Contain Spoilers)

  1. I love this book too. I can’t wait to see the movie, but from what I hear, the ending is changed in the movie. Have you read any of her other books?

    No, I haven’t had a chance to read any of her other books yet. Tomorrow I will be heading to my local library and checking out some of her other books. I hope they are just as great!!

  2. Hello All

    I just wanted to start by saying that the presence here is simply amazing. I think everyone does a fine job here and just wanted to make that known.

    With that being said, I wanted to take a moment to note a site that I found to be helpful during the decision making process while purchasing Angels Eyes. AngelsEyesReview.com has been a massive help in the process and hope you can benefit in the same way.

  3. Pingback: My Sisters Keeper Soundtrack Giveaway « Confetti Dreams

Leave a Reply

