Dreams and text messages

Earlier I was watching the movie “You’ve Got Mail.” Two thoughts ran through my mind. The first thought was that I had to send a text message to someone I like. Hopefully he reads my e-mail since I no longer can read or send text messages due to insufficient funds in my account. That’ll come later.

The second thought is kind of frivolous, but it’s nice to dream.

While watching the movie, I kept thinking that it would be nice to meet someone online, not give any specifics on names or where you work, and just to e-mail each other back and forth. It’s almost like a secret best friend you can confide in and not have any repercussions for it. I’m pretty sure having Tom Hanks as that “friend” wouldn’t be too bad.

So, as I sit here, I keep thinking that Prince Charming is out there and just waiting to be acknowledged; and some day, a fairy tale love will begin to bloom.

Apparently, I have read too many romance novels in my lifetime, and they have drifted into what I dream of. It’s nice to dream, but frankly, reality is far different.

So why the sad and lonely post tonight? Love stories. Movies of romance. They can bring a single woman down. I guess it’s true what Walt Whitman said, “I celebrate myself, and sing myself.” In order for someone to come in and love you, you have to love yourself and be confident with who you are.

From this point on, I am celebrating myself and will be happy with myself. With that, it will shine out and perhaps I will be much happier with myself.
667DD343F8E1D4884AFC1B9C33B5FA10

2 responses to “Dreams and text messages

  1. I love that movie, and yes, I often wonder what that would be like and what the experience would come out to be. But nonetheless, lovely movie.

  2. ~~wow, what really wonderful thoughts to have! and it never hurts to dream or wish-you never know-and sometimes we just have to tell reality to take a back seat!! –and walt whitman was one really neat person-he was always saying things that people love to quote nowadays. and yes we need to celebrate and sings ourselves-we all need to love ourselves more and quit beating ourselves up-i know easy to say but quite difficult to do-so maybe we can try it together. love ya manders!!!!

Leave a Reply

