Darn SATs!

As you learned in the About section, I will be attending college in a few years. In order to get accepted to UT-Austin, you need to pass the SATs. Great, I get to re-learn the math I had [purposely] forgotten since high school. I am just overcome with such joy…. yay.

Every night, I try and study a little. I still remember the differences between binomials and polynomials. Do you really use x3 + 3x2 + 3x + 1 in every day life? I’m pretty sure you don’t walk into a store and use that math?! Now, I have a confession to make. I am not good at writing essays- which you have to write in order to fully complete the SATs. Sometimes they have questions in the study book that confuse the heck out of me! When I was in school, it came easy. Now I have to ask you guys a favor, help me hone my essay writing skills? Here what we’ll do:

Give me an essay prompt. Google “essay prompts” if you have to. Once you have the prompt, leave it in a comment. It’s easier for both of us.

I’ll write an essay and give it it’s own page. You can come back, read it and then grade it.

You grade it on a scale from 6 to 1. 6 is the best and 1 means that I need more help than what Dr. Phil can give me.

Want to know what 6 through 1 means? Well then, I’m SO glad you asked. Here’s my personal opinion of what they mean. I didn’t really want to write down EVERYTHING. It was boring.

Pick a number for what you TRULY think of the essay.

6- Bravo! Bravo! *throw confetti*
5- You were one step away from celebrating. ONE!
4- At least you understood the question.
3- It doesn’t suck as much as I thought it would.
2- Sorry, do not pass go, do not collect $200.
1- You wrote this? I thought a monkey did!

So go ahead, my pen and I are waiting!

667DD343F8E1D4884AFC1B9C33B5FA10

2 responses to “Darn SATs!

  1. ~~lots of luck and i have faith in you. may actually give you an essay to do. i’m already throwing confetti for you!!!““““`*********

  2. Let’s see… From collegeboard.com:

    Whether it is a child pouting to get ice cream or a politician using emotionally charged language to influence potential supporters, all people use some form of acting to achieve whatever ends they seek. Public figures of all kinds would have short, unsuccessful careers without the aid of acting. Acting—consciously assuming a role in order to achieve some purpose—is a tool people use to protect their interests and gain advantages in every aspect of life.

    Adapted from Marlon Brando, Foreword to The Technique of Acting by Stella Adler

    Assignment:

    Is acting an essential part of everyday life? Plan and write an essay in which you develop your point of view on this issue. Support your position with reasoning and examples taken from your reading, studies, experience, or observations.

Leave a Reply

